• Home
  • /
  • EU Member Countries

EU Member Countries

There are currently a total of 28 member countries in the European Union (EU), a list of which is given below.

The European Economic Area (EEA) includes all EU countries and also Iceland, Liechtenstein & Norway. This allows these 3 countries to also be part of the EU single market. Switzerland is neither an EU or EEA member but is part of the single market.

BREXIT : UK voted to leave the EU on 23rd June 2016. It informed the EU of its intention to leave the EU on 29th March 2017. As of now, UK continues to be a member of the EU till such time formal approvals of the terms of Brexit are approved by both the EU and UK Parliaments.

EURO is the official currency of 19 out of the 28 countries in the EU. Currently, the non-euro countries are Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Sweden.

Countries which are in the process of integrating EU legislation into their national laws and hence qualify for EU membership are: Albania, Montenegro, Serbia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Turkey.

EU Residency by Investment, EU Citizenship by Investment and EU Long Term Resident Permit programs are some of the popular routes to investment migration to the European Union.


EU Member Countries (Total 28)

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • UK

latest blog


Fill out the form below to receive a free and confidential initial consultation.