United States of America

Situated in the center of North America, the United States of America (USA or U.S. or America) covers a total area of 9.8 million sq. km. and is the third largest country in the world, after Canada & Russia. It is one of the most ethnically diverse and multicultural nations.

The U.S. consists of 50 states (48 continental plus Alaska and Hawaii), a federal district, Washington D.C., and small territories in the Pacific and Caribbean. The capital city is Washington, D.C.


The United States provides for immigrant visas based on family ties, employment, adoption, special immigrant categories, and the Diversity Visa.

The US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) oversees immigration to the United States and approves (or denies) immigrant petitions.

If you are based outside the US, you will need to apply and be interviewed for your US visa by your nearest U.S. Embassy or Consulate.

Key Facts

  • Official Name: United States of America
  • Abbreviated Name: US or USA
  • Capital City: Washington D.C.
  • Government: Constitution-based federal republic
  • Independence: 4th July, 1776 (from Great Britain)
  • Population: Approx. 340 million
  • Main Languages: English and Spanish
  • Legal System: Common Law System based on English Common Law at the Federal Level, state legal systems based on Common Law
  • Currency: US Dollar (USD)
  • GDP: USD 25.46 trillion (2022) – the largest economy in the world
  • Federal Corporate Tax Rate: 21%
  • State Corporate Tax Rates: From 1 – 12% (depending on state)
  • Personal Federal Tax Rates: 10 – 37%
  • Personal State Tax Rates: 5.36 – 13.3%
  • Calling Code: 001
  • Residency requirement for Citizenship: 5 years
  • Time Zone: GMT – 5 hours